Five Finger Death Punch - The Wrong Side of Heaven And The Righteous Side of Hell, Volume 1

Eleven Seven Music/EMI Music
Produced by Kevin Churko

With selling just over 150,000 copies to date, four studio albums (soon to be five), one live album and headlining the first ever Trespass America tour in 2012, Five Finger Death Punch seem to be taking the world by storm and their latest offering The Wrong Side of Heaven And The Righteous Side of Hell, Volume 1 ensures that nothing changes.

Opening with the single Lift Me Up which features heavy metal giant Rob Halford, the album starts on a almighty high. Lift Me Up contains all the elements of a great metal song, whether this be the driving riff, the big melodic chorus or just the fact that Rob Halford features on the track. Thankfully the album continues in this suit going straight into Watch You Bleed which contains a mix of heavy metal attitude and acoustic/melodic phrases that complement each other beautifully, whilst also including a mid tempo but meaningful guitar solo which is refreshing in modern metal.

Unlike most metal bands Five Finger Death Punch are not afraid to push the boundaries, they have no shame in incorporating heavy metal with deep melodic harmonies and with songs like The Wrong Side of Heaven and M.I.N.E (End This Way) it seems that the band's adventurous spirit has paid off in a successful way. This being said, Five Finger Death Punch still know how to keep true to their roots with heavy metal anthems such as You, Burn M.F and Dot Your Eyes which instantly sound like the War Is The Answer era that was so well received and brought the band to new heights back in 2009.

Along with the bands first "spoken word" track, Diary of A Dead Man, a track that describes the emotional torment that vocalist Ivan Moody goes through on a day to day basis, the band have also incorporated the use of more guest appearances, something that has not seen on previous albums. As well as Halford, the album includes vocal contributions from Max Cavalera, Maria Brink, Jamey Jasta and rapper Tech N9ne, who features on the bands cover of LL Cool J's Mama Said Knock You Out.

Despite the respectable contributions and the chilling performance by Maria Brink on Anywhere But Here, it's questionable whether releasing each track featuring a guest appearance twice, one with the additional vocals and one without is actually necessary. Despite this minor annoyance, the album as a whole is a magnificent effort and tells the world that Five Finger Death Punch are now going from strength to strength after faltering last time out.

“ not afraid to push the boundaries ”

Tracklist: Lift Me Up (feat. Rob Halford) / Watch You Bleed / You / Wrong Side of Heaven / Burn MF / I.M.Sin / Anywhere But Here (feat. Maria Brink) / Dot Your Eyes / M.I.N.E. (End This Way) / Mama Said Knock You Out (feat. Tech N9ne) / Diary of a Deadman / I.M.Sin (feat. Max Cavalera) / Anywhere But Here (duet with Maria Brink) / Dot Your Eyes (feat. Jamey Jasta)
Deluxe Edition Bonus Live Album: Intro / Under And Over It / Burn It Down / American Capitalist / Hard To See / Coming Down / Bad Company / White Knuckles / Drum Solo / Far From Home / Never Enough / War Is The Answer / Remember Everything / No One Gets Left Behind / The Bleeding

Written by Ellis Davis
More: 2013, Albums, Alternative,

More News

At The Gates Roadburn setlistPrimal Fear tour 2019Triptykon Roadburn setlistOverkill 2019 London setlistDestruction London setlistF&J 2019 London setlistMärvel Gothenburg setlistAlien Weaponry tour 2019Alice Cooper tour 2019Godsmack London setlist


A yearly calendar of the concerts and festivals Jukebox:Metal plan to attend and/or review. Updated regularly with new shows and review/setlist links. Click here.


Subscribe to the Jukebox:Metal Dispatches RSS news feed or click here for more info